Meet the Team

Our team has been continuously growing since our founding in 2021. We come from a range of different backgrounds, united by our aim to provide superior solutions to our partners and customers.

Dr. Jan Felix Evers (Felix)

Managing Director – Felix, has over 20 years experience in fundamental research (neuroscience) and the design/development of measurement instrumentation (optical and x-ray) for both bio-scientific research and industry. Give him a tough imaging problem to solve, and he is in his happy place.

jfevers@cairn-research.eu

Dr. Christian Wilms

Dr. Christian Wilms

Marketing & Sales – Christian brings over two decades of experience in fluorescence microscopy and neuroscience as well as five years of marketing experience to our team. He is a self-confessed multiphoton imaging nerd, whom we are showing the delights of one-photon microscopy.

cwilms@cairn-research.eu

Michael Knopf

Design & Engineering – A degree level mechanical engineer (Diplom Ingenieur), Michael has been with Cairn GmbH from the start . Before designing microscopes and microscopy building blocks, he developed and installed telescope solutions for astrominical research, including the second largest telescope in Germany.

mknopf@cairn-research.eu

Matti Rautiainen

Account Manager – Matti brings his long experience in sales and account management for high-tech and scientific instrumentation to the team. Currently the only member of our team not based in Heidelberg, Matti is based in Oulu, Finnland.

mrautiainen@cairn-research.eu

Dr. Joseph Gompertz (Joe)

Support, installation & manufacturing – Joe is physicist by training, with a background in X-ray spectroscopy and a range of (not just light) microscopy techniques. He brings his experience in installing and supporting advanved microscopy systems to our team.

jgompertz@cairn-research.eu

Magdalena Heckl

Administration – Magdalena is one of the initial team members, bringing her skills in organisation to a growing company. She splits her time between us and teaching at the local music school.

mheckl@cairn-research.eu